Jail Ceremony Information
COVID-19 Impact Statement
*As of June 25, 2020 Ada County Jail has shut down all in-person clergy visits. Legally, a Marriage ceremony cannot be conducted via a video visit. According to Idaho and Oregon law, the marriage ceremony MUST be solemnized "in the presence of" the authorized and empowered Officiant. The law interprets "in the presence of" to mean the couple, Officiant, and witnesses (where required) must be physically present, in the same room, without the use of any electronic means such as SKYPE, telephone (FaceTime), or other video communications for the wedding ceremony.***
All marriage ceremonies must be pre-approved through the facility; the facility can revoke this approval at ANY TIME. The inmate will be required to submit a form requesting permission to get married. Reverend Laura is an Approved Clergy for Ada County Jail, Idaho Department of Correction (IDOC) Facilities (i.e., NICI and CAPP), and the Snake River Correctional Institute (SRCI) in Oregon. Whomever you choose for your clergy, they MUST be approved by the facility.
If your fiancé is at a County facility awaiting trial and there is a "No Contact" order in place, your request for marriage will not be approved. A "No Contact" order is usually issued by the judge when you are a co-defendant with the inmate. Please do not attempt to violate a "No Contact" order. Getting married is not worth breaking the law.
** Canyon County Jail does not allow in-person visits; all marriage ceremonies are performed in person (by Idaho law) by a Magistrate, no outside clergy. The inmate must use the jail's internal request process by submitting a "kite" form. The facility authorities review the request, and you will receive a notification via mail. The inmate gets information through the jail's internal process. If the marriage request is approved, your letter from the jail will include additional instructions. This process can take several weeks, be patient. **
Because the inmate is unable to appear in person to apply for the license you will need to get a special form from the county clerks office for the inmate to sign (typically from Ada County). The inmate's signature must be notarized. Sometimes the inmate's attorney will offer notary services, we recommend exploring this option first. Some bail bonds offices offer notary services for a nominal fee; shop around. The average price is $30 for a notary, but we have heard of clients paying as little as $10 and as much as $120.
Oregon Applications for Marriage expire after 60 days, so do not start the process for application too early but be sure to leave enough time for mailing back and forth. Here the contact information for Washington County, they will process the application for an Oregon Marriage License by mail if you send them a self-addressed STAMPED envelope to the address below:
155 N First Ave
Hillsboro, OR 97124
Once you receive the Application form, mail it (the blank form) to your fiancé at SRCI so that he can fill out and sign his portion of the Application, as PARTY A; Boxes 1a through 11b. After he completes his portion, he must sign and date the form in Box 25 in the SIGNATURES Section, then mail it back to you.
Input your information under PARTY B; Boxes 12a through 22b and sign and date in Box 26 then mail the form back to Washington County with your $60 Licensing fee.
Washington County will review, record, date, and sign the “LICENSE TO MARRY” section of the form; boxes 27 then mail it back to you.
You will bring the form with you on visitation day for me to fill out the CEREMONY section; boxes 30a to 33. I will mail the form back to Washington County for the final recording.
MOST Oregon Counties require that both parties fill out the marriage application in person at the county office, which is why I’m providing you with mail-in application information. If you are an Oregon State resident, please note that some counties will allow you to pick up the application in person so that you can mail the blank application to your fiancé, have him complete and sign as PARTY A, mail it back to you and then you will go back to the county office complete and sign the form as PARTY B. You will pay your application fee at that time.
Marriage Ceremony Dates/Times/Pricing
Remember approval must be obtained in advance. The facility with informing you of which date and time is approved. Below are general guidelines for each facility and are subject to change.
Ada County Jail
Dates/Times: Any Saturday or Sunday, typically at 9:00 am.
Ceremony Fee: $60
Travel Fee: $0
Idaho Department of Corrections (IDOC) Facilities
Dates/Times: Typically marriage ceremonies are held before regular visiting hours only. At the CAPP facility in Kuna, these ceremonies are usually at 7:00 am or 7:30 am on a visiting day. At the NICI facility in Cottonwood, these ceremonies are usually at 11:30 am on the visiting day.
Ceremony Fee: $100, no travel fee for Kuna facilities.
Travel Fee for NICI: $100
Snake River Correctional Institute
Dates/Times: The last Monday in April and the last Monday in October. Ceremonies/Visitation begins at 8:00 am, plan to arrive by 7:45 am.
Ceremony Fee: $100
Travel Fee: $50